Just Add White!

So over my few years of cookieing I have learned a handful of things, I take that back I have learned a bazillion things. It seems that every cookie order has either a life lesson or baking lesson tucked inside of it.

Did she just say life lesson? Yes, I sure did. Most of the time it’s the lesson that I should not procrastinate so much, or that I shouldn’t have watched that new episode of Grey’s Anatomy before I started, and depending on of the type of night it is, the lesson that I should have stopped at two glasses of wine.

The greatest baking lesson that I have learned is to ADD WHITE.

Yes, this little trick seems so simple but can stop every bleeding nightmare you have ever had.

When I say add white to everything I mean it. Like don’t just add a small ¼ of a teaspoon, I add close to two teaspoons to every color I mix up and about two to three tablespoons when I am only doing white.

This has made so much difference. My cookie timeline (next blog post) is much more efficient now. In the old days I used to flood all my dark colors fist (which I still do) and get this, I would wait anywhere from eight hours to an entire day before I would do anything with light colors. Hopefully that will give you a little insight as to how bad my bleeding problems have been before. IMG_3689

IMG_3691

Now when I do cookies I flood my dark colors and then I oven dry the cookies (oven set to 170 and sick them in there for 12 minutes), let them cool, and immediately start the next colors. I even will go on and do all the details as well. My ultimate goal is to touch the cookies the least amount as possible. I want to finish a tray and be done, so let’s cut out all the back and forth.

This little guy was completed all in one night, I flooded the white first, then I flooded the rest of the two dozen set so by the time I was ready to add the ring master the white hard enough to pipe on top of. I took him in sections doing the dark parts first and letting them sit for about 20 minutes or so.

IMG_2998

IMG_2999

The main downside about adding so much white is that for some reason white is the most expensive color to buy and obviously you have to add more of the color you are using to achieve the appropriate hue because there is so much white in the icing. I really like to use Americolor white but I also do not mind the Wilton white. The Wilton white has a terrible cap on it so watch out for mysterious leakage on your counters and it is a lot runnier so I use more of it.

Here is what I have been up to this week:

Also two new quick videos:

Happy Baking!

Love,

Morgan

Leave a Reply

