Yummy Zucchini Pizza Boats

Apparently I should call this recipe week, which is okay because this week has been a doozy. Oh, and its only Wednesday…yep, don’t remind me.

In between doing around 300 cookies, trying to potty train a toddler, and my youngest slipping out of his two nap schedule, there has been NO time for crafts or cute ideas. All this craziness leads me to want to snack and stress eat alllllllll day.

Today we are making Zucchini Pizza Boats; YUM!

IMG_2762

I had stocked up on zucchini when Kroger had it for $.99 a pound this past week. Plus, I could tell the little boys that they were getting PIZZA for lunch…oh the trickery.

oprah-you-get-a-car_55a566328dc0c4057 (1)

Zucchini Pizza Boats

Originated from Cooking Classy, I have made a few changes here and there.

  • 4 zucchinis
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/2 TSP garlic powder
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 Cup marinara or pasta sauce
  • 1 1/2 Cup mozzarella cheese
  • 16 deli sliced pepperoni
  • Optional: parmesan cheese for topping

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

FullSizeRender (11)

Cut the ends off your zucchinis and cut them in half. Next cut a sliver out of your zucchinis (so it can hold more cheese, of course). Place them on a parchment lined baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with garlic powder, salt, and pepper.

IMG_2758

Add your marinara or pasta sauce, it should fit perfectly in the little boat we created.

IMG_2759My favorite part…the cheese, don’t be shy.

IMG_2760

 Layer your pepperonis, I used two slices per boat. These are large deli cut pepperoni so remember they will shrink. If you are using regular pepperoni that come in the packet, you could totally use more than two.

IMG_2761

Cook for about 15 minutes. See all that cooked cheese, yep, I ate it all while I was waiting for the boys food to cool down.

IMG_2762

Seriously its so good y’all! This recipe was easy and perfect for lunch. It could be a great pizza alternative for my gluten free friends! It is so filling as well, I can usually eat close to 3 slices of pizza on a bad day (no judgement) and I could hardly finish two.

Enjoy!

Love,

Morgan

 

 

Leave a Reply

