My Confetti Cookie Adventure…From the Start

Eeeek, I am so excited to share my first cookie post with you. My goal is to dedicate my weekend posts to cookies.

KGP-57

A little background on my cookie adventure…

I started my cookie company, Confetti Cookies, a little over two years ago. I had ordered decorated cookies for Ryder’s first birthday, after paying an arm and a leg for them I knew I could do this and do it even better! I have no baking background at all (just a background in taste testing), but a unused art degree from Ole Miss (HOTTY TODDY) which has come in very handy.

I tried one base recipe that I found online and I fell immediately deeply in love. I have altered the recipe to my liking and to be completely honest I do add some things here and there for taste. Here is my basic cookie recipe:

Confetti Cookies Cutout Cookies

Makes about 20 cookies

1 cup salted butter

1 cup powder sugar

1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond

1 egg

2.5 cups of flour

Dough needs to chill for at least 3 hours. 

Preheat oven to 375 and bake for 9-11 minutes. 

Disclaimer: these cookies taste similar to a shortbread cookie. The icing is what will sweeten them! 

I made my first batch of cookies using a glaze. Glaze is confectioners’ sugar, corn syrup, water and vanilla. I now use royal icing that is made with meringue power or egg whites.  I learned my techniques and how to’s by watching a bunch of YouTube videos.

My FIRST cookies…

FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender_1

After only practicing for about 2 months I decided to try and sell Valentine’s Day cookies on a local resale site. I’m not sure how many cookies I did, but I know it was over 100.

FullSizeRender_2

FullSizeRender_4

Oh, did I forget to tell you I was also NINE MONTHS PREGNANT with Jett. Sweet little Jett was born only five days after Valentine’s Day.

FullSizeRender_5

I have learned so much during these past two years and I do a lot of things differently now. I can’t wait to share cookie tips and designs with you every weekend.

Leave a Reply

